Rank 1 releases remastered edition of ‘Symsonic’!

HCR405_Rank 1 - Symsonic (deluxe_Website Banner

October 27 sees Electronic Music pioneers Rank 1 release a deluxe remasterd edition of their singular artist album ‘Symsonic’. On the same day the pair will also make available a remastered edition of their fables Live At Trance Energy 2002 set.


They only ever made one … and it was damn near perfect … Twenty years ago this month, Benno de Goeij & Piet Bervoets put out ‘Symsonic’, their one and only Rank 1 album. Following anthems like ‘Such Is Life’, ‘Awakening’ and their signature track ‘Airwave’, the album thrust the group into the big leagues, cementing their reputation as one of the Dutch trance greats.


To mark the 20th anniversary of its release, across streaming, download and – for the first time – vinyl, Rank 1 are delighted to bring fans the definitive version of ‘Symsonic’. October 27 will bring the criterion edition which features all the original versions of the album’s time-tested classics. Digital formats meanwhile will also carry a disc’s worth of the best known and most celebrated remixes of their work, from artists like Cosmic Gate, Ferry Corsten, Push, ATB and Marco V.


An album unlike any other, ‘Symsonic’s reputation grew and grew as fans became evermore aware that it would be the group’s one-and-only. Favouring the greater immediacy of the record-and-release dynamic, after ‘Symsonic’, Rank 1 dedicated themselves exclusively to shorter forms like singles, EPs and collaborations. The fans desire for Rank 1 albums though meant that ‘Symsonic’ became their lightning rod and was still being discovered a decade after its release.


The album also came to be recognised as the foundation block for the revered ‘Rank 1 sound’. During its production, Benno & Piet spearheaded the use of a number of groundbreaking production techniques, including the use of sidechain compression, which brought their music its renowned ‘stadium sound’. Drawing on their classical piano backgrounds, they also pioneered the use of symphonic and orchestral elements in trance music, something reflected in both the album’s title and title track.


As we said, ‘Symsonic’ was damn near perfect, but any which way you slice it though, twenty years is a long time in music! So, for the Deluxe edition of the album, Benno & Piet have returned to the album and remastered each of her tracks, giving them a 20-years-later update. Tunes like ‘Down From The Deep’ and ‘Equilibrium’ boom that much bigger, while ‘Cosmomatic’, ‘Airwave’, ‘Conspiracy’ and others soar that bit higher. The album’s cooler-heeled numbers like ‘T.T.C.’ and the Sunday Afternoon Rework of ‘Such Is Life’ meanwhile are that much sharper, richer and more defined.


No doubt ready to delight Rank 1 fans further are a disc’s worth of the most hallowed remixes of ‘Symsonic’s jewels. Included amongst them are ATB’s rework of ‘Airwave’ and Marco V’s rewiring of ‘Such Is Life’. Both the Cosmic Gate and Ferry Corsten rebuilds of ‘Awakening’ are included, as is the Push remix of ‘Breathing’ and Dumonde’s refit of ‘It’s Up To You’.


And if all that wasn’t quite enough, accompanying ‘Symsonic (Deluxe)’, October 27 also sees Rank 1 redux their legendary Live Trance Energy 2002 set. Offering the chance to recapture a true moment in the genre’s history, the mini album contains Piet & Benno’s 30-minute mainstage turn at the famed Jaarbeurs Exhibition Hall in Utrecht. Quickly becoming the stuff of trance legend, before a capacity audience, the pair performed ‘Cosmomatic’, ‘Airwave’, ‘Awakening’, ‘Such Is Life’ and others. Every kick-drum thump, goosebump-inducing harmony, rafter-raising synth, knob-twist, fader-flip (and resulting crowd cheer!) has been remastered, ready to be enjoyed all over again.


Still letting their music do the talking twenty years later, Rank 1’s ‘Symsonic (Deluxe)’ arrives on October 27 and is available through all good streaming, vinyl and download channels here [beyourselfplay.nl/hcr405.OPR]. You can experience Rank 1’s live-as-live-gets 2002 Trance Energy set on the same day here [beyourselfplay.nl/hcr409] and there’s a full range of Rank 1 merchandise available at beyourselfplay.nl/rank1shop.OPR!!


Tracklist: Rank 1 – Symsonic (Deluxe) [Remastered]:                                

CD 1
01. Rank 1 – Symsonic
02. Rank 1 – Cosmomatic
03. Rank 1 – Airwave Album Cut                                                                 
04. Rank 1 – Conspiracy
05. Rank 1 – T.T.C.
06. Rank 1 – Awakening Radio Edit                                                         
07. Rank 1 – Down from the Deep
08. Rank 1 – Equilibrium
09. Rank 1 – Such is Life Sunday Afternoon Rework                            
10. Rank 1 – Passage to the unknown
11. Rank 1 – Still In My Mind
12. Rank 1 – Airwave Sunset Mix                                                                 
13. Rank 1 – Such is Life Album Cut                                                          
14. Rank 1 – The Citrus Juicer Extended Version                                    
15. Rank 1 – Breathing (Airwave) Radio Edit                                         
16. Rank 1 – Breathing (Airwave) Breaks Dub Edit                              
17. Rank 1 – Airwave Rank 1 vs Dutch Force Radio Edit                      
18. Rank 1 – It’s Up To You (Symsonic) Radio Edit

CD 2
01. Rank 1 – Airwave            Original Mix
02. Rank 1 – Airwave            ATB Mix
03. Rank 1 – Airwave            Rank 1 vs Dutch Force Mix
04. Rank 1 – Such is Life      Original version
05. Rank 1 – Such is Life      Marco V Remix
06. Rank 1 – Such is Life      Deep Dub
07. Rank 1 – Awakening       Original
08. Rank 1 – Awakening       Ferry Corsten Remix
09. Rank 1 – Awakening       Cosmic Gate Remix
10. Rank 1 – Awakening       Benicio Remix
11. Rank 1 – Breathing (Airwave)        Original Club Mix
12. Rank 1 – Breathing (Airwave)        Push Vocal Mix
13. Rank 1 – It’s Up To You (Symsonic)             Vocal Club Mix
14. Rank 1 – It’s Up To You (Symsonic)             Dumonde Remix
15. Rank 1 – Conspiracy      Extended Mix
16. Rank 1 – Cosmomatic   Extended Mix
17. Rank 1 – Down From The Deep    Extended Mix

Tracklist: Rank 1’s Live Trance Energy 2002 [Remastered]:
01. Rank 1 – Symsonic       
02. Rank 1 – Cosmomatic  
03. Rank 1 – Black Snow   
04. Rank 1 – Passage to the unknown
05. Rank 1 – Airwave           
06. Rank 1 – Awakening
07. Rank 1 – Such is Life


Follow Rank 1 on their socials

More News
Harmony of Hardcore album

Get that ultimate Hardcore feeling with the Harmony of Hardcore 2024 album

Let’s take it back to the roots! Dedicated to their favorite genre Hardcore, every year thousands of hardcore fans return to the sacred hardcore grounds of Erp for Harmony of Hardcore. With 12 stages and more than 130 artists on a packed lineup, it promises to be the biggest edition…

Year of Summer diamond status

Diamond status for ‘Year of Summer’ by Wildstylez & Niels Geusebroek!

With pride, Be Yourself Music announces that the iconic hardstyle track is the first Dutch dance single to reach 50 million streams. Joram (Wildstylez) and Niels Geusebroek were surprised with this milestone during the afternoon show of Frank Dane on Radio 538. Thanks to this groundbreaking track, Wildstylez remains the…

Wildstylez & Niels Geusenbroek - Year of Summer documentary

‘Year of Summer’: from Hardstyle track to nationwide hit – documentary explores success

“Set your mind free, it’s the year of summer!” Twelve years after the release of this iconic hit, which even secured a spot in the Dutch Radio 2 Top 2000 last year, a documentary celebrating the enormous success of the hardstyle track by Wildstylez and Niels Geusebroek will be released…